top of page
Writer's picturejulianaofjehovah

HOW SHALL THESE THINGS BE?


Hey siblings, it's been a minute. Hope you enjoyed the Easter holidays? I've had a restful couple of days. Circumstances have drawn my attention to one character of the Bible we all know and love so much.

There are questions and there are good questions. A special thank you to this amazing woman for asking one of the most relatable questions in the Bible.


A young girl living in the Palestinian countryside, betrothed to one of the most eligible bachelors in the town. Then all of a sudden this angel visits her and is going on and on about her getting pregnant and birthing the Messiah.


Like how?

Will she have to have sex with someone?

No

So howwww?????


I don't know about you but I have been through situations that seemed impossible looking at my current circumstance.

Logically speaking, it can't be done. Financially speaking it is not feasible. All you have is a Word from God. And like Mary you're asking, "how shall these things be"


Then said Mary unto the angel, How shall this be, seeing I know not a man? Luke 1:34

Moving into unknown territories of adulthood can be difficult. You've got all these ideas you nursed as a child of the kind of life you wanted to live and now here you are, at the big age of twenty-something, thirty-something etc. and none of these dreams have materialized.


Yes, we'll have to throw away a lot of fantasies and dreams but what about the ones God placed in your heart?

What about the prophecies you have received from the Word and through people?


Retracing our steps in the Bible, it easy to see scattered across the pages, stories of men and women who had visions and assignments the size of a mountain but courage and resources the size of a molehill.


Moses, Jeremiah, Jabez, David, Ruth and the list goes on and on.


Moses, a stammerer to lead a nation.

Jeremiah who considered his young age a limitation.

Jabez, whose life was influenced by negative words.

David, a shepherd boy with the destiny of a king.

Ruth, a poor foreign widow who never knew her life could change.

Even Jesus. How do you explain how a carpenter's son will feed thousands of people?

Even me. If you told me I would be sharing my faith with others on the internet some years ago, like Sarah I have laughed out loud. But here we are 🤷‍♀️


It didn't make any sense... until it happened.


But then I love the answer Angel Gabriel gave her.


And the angel answered and said unto her, The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the power of the Highest shall overshadow thee: therefore also that holy thing which shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God. And, behold, thy cousin Elisabeth, she hath also conceived a son in her old age: and this is the sixth month with her, who was called barren. For with God nothing shall be impossible. Luke 1:35-37


And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her. Luke 1: 38


It the simplicity of her faith that amazes me. She believed in the power of the Spirit to make that happen and surrendered herself fully to His will. How beautiful is that.


When we take our eyes off of ourselves and dwell on the power of the Holy Spirit, we are able to achieve all that He wants us to acheive.


There is no man to impregnate me but be it unto me according to your Word.


I don't know what will happen to my impending wedding but be it unto me


I don't know how I will be treated by others but be it unto me


Dear friends, anytime the question of "how" crosses your mind remember that you're not alone. Remember that if you're actively pursuing the will of God for your life, God will settle the bills.


Where there is no way, He will make a way.

“What do you mean, ‘If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.” - Mark 9:23


Blessed is she who believed, for there will be a fulfillment of those things which were told her from the Lord.”- Luke 1:45


Your duty is to believe and obey the instructions He sends your way. Your father will handle the rest.

Anytime the pressure is high, go back to the Word. Look up to the One who sent you. Sit with it, stay with it until it becomes part of your being.


Now take a deep breath and breathe out. Relax your shoulders and calm your nerves, your Father will handle the bills.

33 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page