top of page
Writer's picturejulianaofjehovah

HOW TO STUDY YOUR BIBLE 5 - THE POWER OF DAILY DEVOTIONALS


At the beginning of last year, I had a goal. The plan was to aggressively study my Bible (topical study). I came up with a study plan, bought a specific notepad for that, set the time and everything.

It was going well, I missed some days but managed to get back on track from time to time.

Then life happened, sis got entangled with the issues of life that sis failed to honour the deal she had with God. This is a fact I’m not proud to admit.

But God!


God sent me the gift of a devotional.

The concept of devotionals is one I’m quite familiar with but hadn't fully grasped yet. I used a couple of them during my early Christian walk. I don’t know when but I stopped using them along the way and switched to other methods of studying my Bible.

In this period of spiritual dryness, it was a devotional that helped me get my spiritual life back on track. I had text to meditate on throughout the day and at least one prayer point.


The first post of this series talked about the various ways we can study our Bibles. Well, this is one of the simplified forms. God has blessed men and women with the wisdom to curate a series of write-ups to spur fellow believers on in their faith. You get to see scripture from the lens of seemingly mature people of faith, who then encourage you to dig deeper into the text by meditation and personal study. There are devotionals tackling almost every aspect of life and some are written with an entry for each day to guide you throughout the year.

Prayerfully choose one that speaks to your situation or season and use it with the Word being your ultimate reference. Try the Youversion Bible App for more devotional plans.


Let me warn you though, just because you have a devotional does not mean you're actually going to read it. It will take discipline and structure to open your devotional and study it every day. Bible study just like every other meaningful thing requires discipline and structure. You are the one who determines when and how to study in order to get more than what is written out of the book.

It's a new year once again and we should all strive to do better right? So I have set new goals for myself concerning Bible Study, I'll update you guys soon on how it's going😊.


In case you're wondering, the devotional that came to my rescue was "Firebrand Rewaken Devotional" by Debola Deji Kurunmi. Let me know in the comments, one devotional that has blessed or is blessing you.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page