top of page
Writer's picturejulianaofjehovah

LESSONS I LEARNT FROM THE MOVIES, 'ENOCH' AND 'I HEARD FROM HEAVEN'



I watched “Enoch” a couple of days ago. This morning I remembered that there was a biopic in the works about the life of Archbishop Charles Agyin-Asare. I headed over to Youtube to catch up on some videos and guess what? The biopic was in my recommendations. So here I am giving you a list of things I learnt from the movie.

I am no expert when it comes to movies that’s why I refrain from calling this a movie review. It was a delight seeing Ghanaians attempt this Christian movie thing. Its really great seeing this generation honour our fathers whiles they are still here with us. I do admit however that there is a lot we can do in the Christian movie space especially in Ghana. There were a few hitches my inexperienced eyes spotted in both movies, however, that is not the focus of this post, we’re here to learn.


1. Behind every great man is a history of service

Both men served in obscure places where they were unrecognized and unappreciated but all of that contributed to making them the kind of men they are today. It is almost impossible to climb to a place of relevance bypassing the stage of service. In most cases, great men still serve regardless of wherever they find themselves.


2. A radical transformation is necessary

Look at how Charles’s attitude changed when he gave his life to Christ. The fervency, the hatred for anything ungodly and the suspension of his carnality. That’s the power of the Holy Spirit. Adejare also had to let go of his former lifestyle in order to submit to Christ. It is not enough to live like a nominal Christian, fire is required.


3. It is always a battle of choices

Substituting an education in Australia, or a career to become the youngest Vice Chancellor in Africa for a life on the pulpit is a hard choice for anyone. It’s amazing how life presents opportunities for us to clarify who /what our priority really is- God or education? God or fame? God or material things.


4. Feeling unqualified is part of the growth process

If you ever feel unqualified about doing what God has called you to do, you’re in good company. Moses felt the same way so did Jeremiah. Moses because of his stutter and Jeremiah because of his young age but that did not deter God from using them.

Adejare felt unqualified because he realized the scope of the work that God had given him and after much resistance, he had to trust Holy Spirit to personally guide him on the journey of leading God’s people.


5. Not everybody will believe you in fact they don’t have to.

I believe this is something we all know but our innate instinct to be accepted keeps overriding this. It takes guts to go into a direction with little or no support. I pray that whatever the Lord tells us to do we will set our focus on that forsaking what is trendy or in fashion.


6. Document your journey

Take pictures, make videos, journal. These men are able to tell their stories well because they created memory monuments along the way.


I would have loved to see a bit about the relationship between the ArchBishop and his wife in the movie though. But I guess it's impossible to fit almost a century of one's life into two hours. I felt these were just highlights and we might know the full story only when we get to heaven.


My favorite phrase from “I heard from Heaven” is “It works! There is power in the name of Jesus”. My favorite scene from “Enoch” will be when his mother was blessing him before he left for secondary school.


What are some of the lessons you learnt from these movies?

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page