top of page
Writer's picturejulianaofjehovah

RESOLUTIONS AND A ROOKIE ATTEMPT AT A QUIET LIFE


What is the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word, “resolutions”?


I think of New Year's resolutions. Our society has a little obsession with seemingly new beginnings. We wait till the 1st to roll out our action plan and it feels just right to start exercising at the beginning of a new quarter.

There seems to be something off in waking up on the 22nd of October and deciding that I will practice new habits.


I’ve been inactive here for a while mainly because it was necessary. Then it became comfortable. No brainstorming of ideas, studying or editing. My days went by with no worries about the next post or whether I did justice to the previous one. I've been planning to come back but I can't lie, it was comfortable not to.


In the past couple of months, I've become a bit hmm… I don’t know the right word to use…selfish, I guess(oh that’s a bad word). Looking at my frailty and weaknesses that God has been merciful enough to point out and help me deal with, all I can think is to live life a little bit more quietly. Plus the wake of the fall of a couple of high-profile preachers recently, all I can do in my little corner is examine my life a little more closely and talk less.


A blog is a good channel to encounter God, but you can only know Him when you pray and study the Word. And I hope you did exactly that when there were no new posts. Not making an idol of any man, lest your faith wavers when they fall.


Or maybe I was just stunned into silence by the shege of adulthood. And I translated the stress of it all as a time to abandon the world and mind my business. Whatever 🤷‍♀️😭.


So there are two reasons now, I don’t think either is untrue. You can choose the one you think is more plausible according, to your inclination (a spiritual or a logical one).





In all things the gospel still prevails. The Apostle Paul admonished us in Thessalonians to live a quiet life and that does not mean we should keep our mouths shut about the gospel.

I wanted to return here on the first day of a new month, that sounds auspicious, doesn’t it? New month, new me.


I had a couple of posts in my drafts that needed editing and would be ready to publish but I felt none of them were good enough for my “grand” return. You know, it has to be profound, it has to be deep. It has to be something that will cause you, my dear reader, to think that I've probably been spending the break in some deep philosophical and spiritual bubble lol.


But here we are, at midnight on the third day of October in 2024, sending out a post, because I have decided that this is my new beginning.

It doesn't have to be grand, it doesn’t have to be loud.

The date doesn’t have to rhyme, it doesn’t even have to feel right.


A “go” from God is enough.


Grateful for the gift and the opportunity to share once again.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page